Court sacks Obasanjo’s exco, councilors

An Ogun State High Court sigtting in Ilaro, Yewa South Local Government yesterday sacked eight newly elected councilors sponsored by  a faction loyal to former President Olusegun Obasanjo  of the People’s Democratic Party in the state.

The court also condemned the action of the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commis-sion,OGSIEC,for accepting candidates’ list from  Obasanjo’s faction led by Chairman Caretaker Committee, Ireti Oniyide.

While ruling in a suit filed  by the Chief Bayo Dayo-led faction of the PDP against the Oniyide Caretaker Committee, Justice Mosun Dipeolu described as null and void  the victory  of the eight councilors under the party in the July 21 local government council election in the state.
The judge however  ordered the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission to accept the candidates  list of the Dayo-led State Executive of the PDP as the duly elected flagbearers of the party in the recently conducted council poll.

Also Read:  2015: Northern leaders clash over Jonathan

It would be recalled that, PDP won eight councilorship seats in the last council election which was participated by Obasanjo’s faction following the rejection of the other faction’s list by OGSIEC.

The court at yesterday’s sitting  also ordered that the Dayo-led Executive remained the only recognized exco of the Ogun PDP.

“The list of candidates for the election into the local government councils in Ogun State submitted to the 11th Contemnor (OGSIEC) by any officers, organs, members of the the first defendant (PDP) other than the applicants is hereby nullified as the applicants are presently the only authentic exco in Ogun State until their terms of office expire,” the judge ruled.

Also Read:  Man plucks rival’s eye over paternity of a child

But the court dismissed the prayer of the Dayo faction to commit to prison the members of the Oniyide-led group, including Mr. Tunde Oladunjoye and Fasiu Bakenne for contempt of the order of the court.

Justice Dipeolu added that a Federal High Court in Lagos had earlier tried and convicted the Ogun PDP chieftains.
“The first to third contemnor (Oniyide, Oladunjoye and Bakenne) by Section 36 (9) of the 1999 Constitution, they have been tried and convicted by Federal High Court and this prayer failed and is accordingly dismissed,” she held.

While also dismissing another prayer seeking the committal to prison of the OGSIEC Chairman, Alhaja Risikat Ogunfemi and six other commissioners of the electoral body for contempt, Justice Dipeolu said that the procedure for the committal of the commission members was not followed by the applicants.

Also Read:  Save Buhari from APC cabal, Fayose tells North

“Contempt against 4th to 10th contemnors, in view of the court decision, the process of committal proceeding was not followed by applicants. So, it failed and is accordingly dismissed,” Justice Dipeolu said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

sixteen − thirteen =