Confusion in PDP as 37 reps defect to APC

Confusion in PDP as 37 reps defect to APC

PDPThirty-seven out of the 208 PDP members in the House of Representatives on Wednesday defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The defection was contained in a letter read by the Speaker, Alhaji Aminu Tambuwal, on the floor of the House.With the addition of the defected members, the APC now has 107 members in the lower chamber.

The defecting members in their letter, cited faction and division in the ruling PDP as reason for their action.They said that their action was in line with the provisions of Section 68 (1g) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

It should be recalled that five governors elected under the PDP platform had earlier defected to the APC. They are, Aliyu Wamako of Sokoto, Musa Kwankwanso of Kano, Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara, Murtala Nyako of Adamawa, and Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers.

Also Read:  Tread Softly: Oyinlola's Counsel Warns PDP


3 Responses to "Confusion in PDP as 37 reps defect to APC"

  1. Adebayor Harbyb Horlyday   December 18, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    OMG!! i like this

  2. Evbaruese Esemuede
    Evbaruese Esemuede   December 18, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    Pdp stil Remain d majority in d house n d defectors if confirmed there sit wil be declared vacant

    • Omar Adam Madia   December 19, 2013 at 12:56 am

      i dont know where u got that from, check section 68 subsectn g, of d constitution 1999 as amended and see what constitution said about defectors,


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

seventeen − 8 =