Election: INEC Declares Obiano of APGA Anambra Winner

Election: INEC Declares Obiano of APGA Anambra Winner
APGA Governorship Candidate in Anambra Election, Willie Obiano
Willie Obiano

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared Chief Willie Obiano of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) winner of the governorship election in Anambra State.

This followed the completion of the supplementary election in the state on Saturday in areas where it did not hold on November 16.

Declaring the result, the Chief Returning Officer, Prof. James Epoke, said the APGA candidate scored 180,178 votes to win the election.

He said Mr. Tony Nwonye of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and Sen. Chris Ngige of the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 97,700 and 95,963 votes to emerge second and third respectively.

Also Read:  15-year-old kills boy,12, with dane gun

Mr. Ifeanyi Ubah of the Labour Party came forth with 37,495 votes and Chief Godwin Ezeemo, candidate of Progressive Peoples Alliance clinched the fifth position with 5,120 votes.

Results from INEC showed that of the 1,776,167 registered voters in the state, 465,891 people accredited and total vote cast was 442,242.

The results also showed that 16,988 votes were voided and valid votes were 425,254.

“To declare a winner, the candidate must score 25 per cent vote in two-third of local government; having satisfied this condition, Chief Willie Obiano is now returned winner, ” the News Agency of Nigeria quoted the Chief returning officer as saying on Sunday morning.

Also Read:  Adamawa PDP rejects Gulak, backs Juta

One Response to "Election: INEC Declares Obiano of APGA Anambra Winner"

  1. Musa Lawal
    Musa Lawal   December 1, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Yeah dre do wel


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

15 − five =