Confab proposes rotational presidency among regions

  • All government officials must use made in Nigeria cars.

The National Conference on Thursday voted that the presidency shall rotate among the six geo-political zones of the country.

confab new1111 - Confab proposes rotational presidency among regionsThey also said the rotation should be between the northern and southern regions.

This was one of the decisions taken by the delegates at their plenary while considering reports of the Committee on Political Restructuring and Forms of Government.

But the conference failed to list the order through which the office would rotate.

The delegates also said the six geo-political zones be constitutionalised.

Though it was also agreed that the states were free to have their constitutions, but the request to change the name of Adamawa State to Gongola State, was overwhelmingly rejected by the delegates.

It was also agreed by the delegates that in the case of the death, or impeachment of the President or he becomes incapacitated, his deputy would no longer assume office automatically.

Rather, they said that, the Vice President shall only act as President for a period of 90 days within which election will hold.

“In the absence of the death of the president, the Vice President shall act as president for a period of 90 days within which an election to the office of the President shall be held,” the conference said.

They argued that since the office of the President would be rotated among the six geo-political zones, it would be unfair to allow the Vice President to take the turn of other zones by automatically assuming power.

It would be recalled that President Goodluck Jonathan assumed office following the death of President Umaru Yar’Adua in 2010.

Some prominent northerners said it was wrong for Jonathan to have again run for the office of the president since Yar’Adua did not complete the expected eight year tenure allocated for the northern part of the country.

The delegates rejected that the President should run for a single term of six years, and favoured the present arrangement of two terms of four years.

It was also agreed that the President and his deputy should run on a joint ticket, thereby rejecting the recommendation that the President should pick his deputy among the members of the National Assembly after he must have won.

The conference also supported the unicameral form of government. This implies that there would still be the Senate and the House of Representatives.

It was also agreed that the office of the Governor shall rotate among the three senatorial districts in the state while the office of the chairman of a local government council shall rotate within the local government areas.

The conference also suggested that that the Independent National Electoral Commission should divide the council to two or three equal parts as the case maybe for the purpose of electing the local government chairman.

Amidst shouts of “yes”, the delegates also approved the creation of 18 more states, which would be shared among the six geo-political zones.

However, the conference approved the creation of one more state for the South-East, which is going to be different from the 18 new states.

The new state for the South-East was based on the fact that out of the six zones in the country, only the zone has five states while others, except North-West, which has seven states, have six states.

It was agreed that the new 18 states would be shared in such a way among the six zones that no zone would have more state than the other.

The proposed states are Aba, from the present Abia State, Katagum from Bauchi State, Ijebu from Ogun State, Amana from former Sardauna Province, Apa from Benue State, Anioma State from Delta State, Savannah from Borno, Etiti from South-East, Njaba/Anim from Anambra and Imo States, Gurara from Kaduna, Ghari from Kano State, Adada, New Oyo from Oyo State, Orachi from Rivers State, Ogoja from Cross River State and Kanji from Kebbi and Niger States.

It was agreed that the two states from both the South-South and South-West would be determined later.

They rejected a motion that the number of states in Nigeria should not be more than 55.

However, a delegate to the conference who is also a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Mr. Femi Falana condemned the decision to create more states.

He said the action was at variance with the decisions and resolutions earlier taken by the conference on the need by government to cut cost.

“Having regard to the several resolutions of the national conference on the need to reduce the costs of governance I found the recommendation for the creation of additional 18 states rather contradictory,” Falana said.

On states that want to merge, the conference said that a referendum should be conducted in each of the states that wants to merge with 65 per cent of the eligible voters in each of those states approving merger and that the National Assembly by resolutions passed by a single majority of membership, approves of the merger.

On the running of local government, the delegates said that states were free to create or reduce local governments.

It was agreed that all government officials must use made in Nigeria cars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.